The Wrestling Fields

I have just spent a lovely evening listening to and watching the iTunes Festival in London’s live performances of Adele and (unbelievably) Linkin Park. Their cover of Adele’s Rolling In The Deep has to be seen and heard to be believed!

High days and holidays undoubtedly offer up time to reflect if you are not in a relationship and these days are filled with plans of trips away. Instead I find myself once again in the wrestling fields of life’s meaning. Truth be told I have spent most of today watching the unfolding not only of a news story but of three pillars of our society – the Police, the Press and the other institution that is Politician. Is it possible that Adele can foretell the future…

Throw your soul through every open door

Count your blessings to find what you look for

Turn my sorrow into treasured gold

Pay me back in kind then

Reap just what you’ve sown

You’re gona wish you,

Never had met me,

Tears are gona fall…

Rolling in the Deep

10 thoughts on “The Wrestling Fields

  1. I love that pic and the name on the sign. My first reaction was that I had a desire to walk that path and wade in the waters below. You are so lucky to have the ocean practically at your doorstep. I’m in the middle of America, and would have to travel great distances to experience what you encounter everyday. I know the times I have, I’ve just sat on the sand looking out over the horizon and thinking to myself how small I am and my problems in comparison. It had a great impact on me, and put things in perspective. Although it may be common to you, I hope you’re able to see with new eyes once in a while the wonder of it. It truly is a magnificent work of God.

    • Absolutely Lou, I really do appreciate it – in fact I’m forever saying that the landscape is the only thing I like about living here! You only have to drive 20mins out of Belfast in any direction and you can see mountains or the sea (when not under a grey cloud that is :() That particular photo from Cornwall has a similar effect on me too πŸ™‚

  2. writhing with embarrasement here but I hav’nt heard of her either. Having said that I love the picture and the many thoughts it inspires.I love Cornwall by the way. Each mouthful of a cream tea is a step nearer paradise. I love cream teas. I love Cornwall and the photo. Must look up this Adele person. She comes highly recommended

    • Isn’t she just! I’ve only liked a few Linkin Park tracks over the years but I do like Chester’s voice and they seem to have mellowed a bit. Loved this cover though – glad you did too!

Leave a comment