Forget Bliss. Follow Your Napoleon’s Nose

N.B. Magnifying glass may be required to read this post.

I live in the city of Belfast. Northern Ireland is not worldly known at first tell by it’s natural landscapes, rugged coastlines or fabulous lakeland even though we have all of these. More often we have come to be known as that place of ‘the troubles’ where people have been murdered and blown up and where politicians are more likely to be heard using the tried and tested political strategy of ‘stirring the pot of hatred’ than say, forward thinking, inclusiveness or indeed even conservatism, liberalism or whatever.

Well all that bores me witless but like the people working in our beleaguered tourist profession I have come to know and appreciate some of the natural landscapes that are unique to us. One of these is Napoleon’s Nose – a rocky outcrop of basalt that edges the top of one of the hills, Cavehill, surrounding Belfast. It is so-called as it is meant to bear a likeness to Napoleon in profile and well, he was known to have a bit of ‘hooter’. The story goes that the image of Cavehill inspired Jonathan Swift to write Gulliver’s Travels.

On my daily walk I can see Napoleon’s nose and this morning it seemed to be looming at me out of the clouds. Here is a pretty wick photo of it that I took this morning – it didn’t really come out too well (looked much more dramatic in reality, honestly) but if you are really clever you can just make it out if you follow up from the little red roof in the centre of the photo to the top of the hill in the background and then just a little to the right. That is if you can find/see the little red roof, not the bigger one to the left…(you’ll probably need to click on each photo :()

In this second photo the ‘nose’ is actually lit up by the sun just to the left of the green bush in the foreground.

Same view taken on a sunnier day…

In this one if you look really really hard you can even see the iconic yellow Harland and Wolf cranes of Belfast’s Shipyard that have come to symbolise Belfast. No really they are there, look again. Use the magnifying glass. They stand close to the dock where the world famous Titanic was built. To the right is the mouth of Belfast Lough.

Okay clearly I am not a photographer (these were taken with my iPhone and I am about 10 miles away from Cavehill)) and the point of my post about following your nose is just that. I am not a photographer so I must be something else. Advice about changing our working lives into one we feel more aligned with is much and varied. It seems a widely held and learned view that our next employment opportunity is at least likely to be allied to the field we have experience in, a certainty I would say if you are thinking of becoming self employed.

I enjoy thinking about symbols and meaning and problem solving. I love helping people to work through problems, issues and I love to help them find the information they need and I know about the benefits of group work, of sharing problems and learning from others. I love to design training materials and to deliver training and so looking at Napoleon I’m thinking this is where my future employment is going to be. Not really a million miles away from what it has been in the past. I am completely fascinated in the why’s of people’s behaviour, find myself a most interesting case in study and when my self obsession gives way I can be a great support and coach to those who surround me. I think I need to follow this lead.

The thought of completely reinventing myself at this stage of my life development seems almost as daunting as climbing Cavehill of a morning and so my landscape is telling me I need to build on what I already know and enjoy. I think what I am missing more than anything in my state of unemployment is people. The interaction with people. This is very important here in Northern Ireland and for many years it added to the political stalemate I alluded to earlier. The problem was you kept meeting the same type of person here, over and over again. That is different now. We have become so much more ‘Cosmopolitan’. And our ability to access news and other information and interact with a greater amount of viewpoints via the web has been well, an enlightenment really.

And so my question to you. Answers on a postcard please for suggestions of suitable employment for this blogger. I have already ruled out Short-Sighted Tourist Guide so you need to be more original than that. Thanks. Oh and my dad used to say that I looked like Nefertiti, the Ancient Egyptian Queen, because a little replica iron bust he had of her that used to sit on our fireplace showed quite a big nose in profile.

10 thoughts on “Forget Bliss. Follow Your Napoleon’s Nose

  1. I thought the photo’s were beautiful. I’ve always wanted to visit Ireland, England, and Wales. Any and all pics I’ve seen of them show strikingly beautiful landscapes. That, and we don’t have the vast history and castles here that you do. I am just fascinated by history. My mother’s side of the family came by boat from Wales sometime in the early 1800’s, I believe it was. Which is where I get my Scotch-Irish side. I would love to go over there and try to do research on my family’s history. Ahh…winning the lottery again.
    I don’t know what I’d lean towards in a career. I’m afraid I’m not very savvy in that area. I know for me I’ve thought about looking into educating myself on being a Womens and Childrens Advocate. I relate well to hardship, abuse, and getting through the system. Either that or counseling. Hell, 90% of bartending is listening and counseling. I should have plenty of experience with that. Ha..ha..

    • Aw too kind about the photos! Anytime you win the lottery Mrs you would be most welcome to stay with me. Women’s and Children’s Advocate sounds great for you – I worked in a bar when I was younger and really enjoyed it and you’re right about the listening and counselling. We are too quick to undersell ourselves though aren’t we? Note to self: Possibly go back to B&B idea!

  2. What about bloging, my friend? I’ve found some books on making money by blogging–mind you, I haven’t yet read them and have’t made a single penny myself–but you are a very fine writer. Why not start a blog that would attract tourists to Ireland or something like that.

    Honestly, I don’t know what you might do, but you do write well!

    Kathy

    • That’s kind Kathy thank you. It is interesting you say blogging – I think this medium is going to take me to what I should be doing if not directly then just by helping me get clear. And writing too is going to be part of it I know that as well. Thanks for your kind comments.

  3. Journalist. You’re such an entertaining writer and you know how to write with real emotion, so your writing has a great rhythm to it. You also have insight into people. I could see you interviewing people and writing articles about them. Plus you’d get to go out and about. I can’t imagine you being completely sedentary, you’ve got so much great energy.

    • Well now this is freaky – I was just thinking that it might be an idea for a post to interview a few inspiring people!! Thank you for your kind comments Jennifer i’m off to scribble a few notes on my journalist’s notepad!

  4. Well given your ability to help people to solve problems why don’t you look in life coaching.

    I truly believe one can only help people in difficulty and trouble if one has ‘suffered’ the experience oneself.

    Just a suggestion!

    xxx

  5. You are all too kind. I was expecting to hear suggestions such as editing Where’s Wally pages or some such like. Life Coaching is something I have considered but I know a few and it is quite hard to get business in this economic climate, not that that should stop me. I might get into some variation of that which is again similar to my background (Don’t laugh but I was a personal development trainer!) I need to get some new training myself and I have a few ideas. Thanks for yours.

  6. Pingback: Continuing The Aesthetic Exploration Or, Stepping Into Being. | Life Re-Connected

  7. Pingback: Awarding The Stars. Seven Times. | Life Re-Connected

Leave a comment